Read what people are saying
Precision Garage Door of Indianapolis
about Precision Garage Door
has received 25 reviews, averaging 2.00 Stars:
I would like to talk to someone from customer service. I recently had service completed and the guys were very friendly and did a good job. However, I feel the pricing was way too high. I agreed to it, but after looking up how much these parts cost after the fact and how long it took to complete the work, I feel completely taken advantage of. Not a good feeling to have about a business.
- Bradley Breedlove
Service Technician: Drew T
$706.99 for 2 torsion springs to be replaced.
- Eric Biddle
$80 was alot for the charge for someone just to come out and spray lubricant on the spring. At least you can buy alot of lubricant spray cans with $80. He could've checked the hinges and rollers to make sure they were tight. Technician said hinges and rollers looked good never checked to see if any screws might have been loose.
- Deltus Mullen
Service Technician: Eli T
Need a Door Spring replaced. Spring was replaced without issue. Tech assured me that the Bear Plates must be repaired. Door is only two and a half years old. There was no attempt to show me the so called bad plates. Obviously the up-sell is a good way to boost billings. I don't think there was anything wrong with the plates that I paid an additional $250 for. I received an email from Joel to call him and I will. I have attempted to connect via email but can't get any response. Not a company that I would recommend or refer anyone else to.
- Brian Clingerman
Service Technician: Ryan L
it took 90 days to get my garage door installed. it was mis measured. one of the panals was damaged.they had to order a narrower door panal to make the door look right, the second tech had to readjust everything the first tech did. not very happy with the overall installation. would like to see some free pm service for a year at least for my trouble. for doing only garage doors, very poor service
- Mike Beightol
Hi Mike, I'm sorry we put you through this. While our team does a great job 99% of the time, we made a big mistake on your measurements. The new door is correct and I'm confident you will have no further issues. We stand behind our work much longer than 1 year and if any issue at all arises please call us immediately. Thank you, Joel Belyew
My door was just as noisy when your tech left as was before he arrived. After having another overhead door tech look at our door it was determined that the chain rail had an upward bow in to. After straightening the chain rail the door was quiet again. You need to better train your techs on actual repairs instead of selling a bunch of unneeded parts.
- Gary Hoffmeyer
Gary, I'm very sorry we missed the root cause of the issue. I was not there so I cannot speak to the cause. I have not come across a Operator with an upward bent rail so I can see where the tech may have missed and instead assumed it was just the age of the operator and the fact it was a chain which are typically louder. Thank you for working with me, and I hope the refund we provided will change your perception. Thank you, Joel Belyew
Service Technician: Josh B
You were going to offer the spring repair of my garage @ $80.00 when I decided I just wanted the estimate for now(after growing skeptical when being told a if I wanted everything need fixed it could range from $700 to over $900). I was happy to pay for the time of the service call. The owner/manager was very insistent on the phone stating he didn't allow techs to leave a broken garage door. I said I didn't want something for nothing and didn't expect to only pay $80.00 for the repair. We agreed on $140 to put on a pair of your smaller springs. This whole experience felt like an attempt to up-sell from the beginning. Your technician was knowledgeable and polite...but I could tell he was very irritated when I was feeling hesitant and just wanted to pay for the time to give me the estimate and assess the door. We had talked about a remote(I needed an extra) and I accepted a charge of $50.00 . I didn't argue on the price because I already felt like I was the "bad customer." I found a remote for a Linear garage door motor for 20.00 on line. Not a very good experience....other than the promptness to schedule and get out to my house same day. Apologized to your tech for not being his easiest customer...and he said "you're not as bad as the cold." Wow...
- Rusell Bailey
We chose Precision because we have used you the past few years. And most importantly, because you said you could have the door installed the next day. But we were informed on the day of install that you couldn’t get it installed for 5 more days! We would have contacted someone else because we were going out of town for the weekend. But we were assured that the door would be installed the next day.
- Sharon Eup
Hi Sharon, Thank you for speaking with me. I'm sorry for the change up, but it was out of our control. Thanks, Joel Belyew
Service Technician: Andrew S
I choice precision because they were able to come out on July 4th. Andrew sroka was very professional and very prompt. He gave me multiple options on repairs with absolutely no pressure. I will always use precision doors and recommend them to my friends.
- Michele McClure
Service Technician: Andrew S
The initial service was great fast friendly. They gave great options for my service and honest prices, the service technician was great . But it’s going to take 17 Days! to get my new door put in, I was told at repair a week to 10days tops If I would have known that I would’ve used someone else , very disappointed
- Jason Paulin
Service Technician: Josh B
I chose Precision because of an ad I saw advertising free service call. I was looking to replace the sensors on 2 garage doors. Ben the tech- very nice and knowledgeable told me I would have to replace both units because the base unit was too old. Fine not what I was looking to do but I understood until he quoted me over $900 for 2 units. My friend just had hers replaced for $350. When I told Ben I would think about it He said that would be $80 for the service call. My free coupon only works if you get a repair. It took less than 15 mins. Needless to say I have called a few other companies and the going rate is $340-$350 no service fee
- David Wolfenden
Service Technician: Ben H
Cost wasn’t what was promised. Technician left before showing us the work performed fixed the repair.
- Matt Lawson
Our neighbor's house took a lightning hit which knocked out our two garage door openers. When I placed the service call I told the service rep the manufacturer and the model of the unit and they ensured me the parts would be on the truck. The importance of this is that we are closing on the sale of this home on Monday so I wanted everything to be fixed on Friday. The part needed was not on the truck so the repair was not done on Friday and the chances of it being completed before close on Monday is questionable plus we are moving out of state two days after the close. Was disappointed that the repair was not completed and we had to go the weekend with manually opening and closing the garage doors as we prepare to move. Lastly, was not told about the fuel surcharge fee when I asked about the service call fee. Service Tech was very professional and informative and the rating does not represent anything negative about his interaction with us. I am sending this review with the repair not yet being completed.
- R Sharrar
I'm very sorry for the inconvenience, and whomever you spoke with giving you misleading information. We do keep our trucks as stocked as we can, but certainly will never have every part for every brand available. Thank you for choosing Precision Door Service.
The technician seemed very knowledgeable and finished the installation of the new garage door opener in the time he said it would take. However, the system doesn't work properly. The technician stated that the circuit board was bad----something that was practically unheard of but yet it was a bad board. The safety feature, and the remote clicker doesn't work. I also have to hold the button down or the door will not close. I hope this is fixed in the next day or two because you have already been paid for a half done job. Am I happy? NO!
- J Henry
Thank you for the feedback. This is a very rare problem and unfortunately it happened to you. I hope the quick correction of the issue was satisfactory.
The service was done well, but the price seems expensive. Also your warranty policy seems like a way to lock people in to using your service only so you can charge what ever you feel like. Also the $80 service call fee is also too expensive. But I am glad that you reduce it for follow up work by $20 when the sticker is on the door.
- Charlotte Egler
Hi Mrs. Egler, Thank you for the feedback. I tried to reach by phone. I am committed to customer satisfaction, please let me know how I can help. Sincerely, Joel E Belyew
I called to have my door fixed because I had closed it on something and then it would not close all of the way. I informed the person when I called of the brand and size of my door. When Corey arrived, he took one look, told me that I would need a new door panel and that he could not get it. He told me there was a crease in the door and there was nothing he could do. He was ready to leave. I told him that was unacceptable and that he needed to fix it. He called someone and was told to put a reinforcing bar across the top. That fixed it. And when I closed the door I saw that there is definitely not a crease in the door at all. He did not tell the truth about that. Also, as he left, he got his truck hung up and tore huge ruts in the ground.
- Kelley Hartman
Hi Kelley, Thank you for the feedback. I am not really sure what to say. Corey did note that the door was bent when he arrived, and that does match up with reason you called(door came down on something and now it will not close, she said that top panel is what is causing it not to shut, and was not sure of what is damaged). If this is inaccurate I apologize. Was his repair effective? Is the door still working now? I am very sorry about the problem with the truck. We had two such issues that week due to the crazy weather. I have urged all of drivers to be more cautious, especially on driveways like yours. Please let me know if there is anything further we can do. Thanks, Joel Belyew
I chose your firm because you are close and listed as a service provider for my brand of door. I don't like the $15 gas charge for a 7 mile round trip. Cost of two new sensors ($90) seems high when the entire opener can be purchased at Menards for less than $150. Technician seemed to be trying too hard to sell new springs. It does appear to be fixed so I am happy about that.
- Jerry Hicks
Hi Jerry, The $15 fuel charge is part of the $80 Total Trip we quoted you on the phone to come out, the other $65 is listed as service call. Unfortunately opener parts are expensive, sometimes I wonder if I shouldn't just buy whole units and take them apart and sell the pieces instead. Not sure your pricing out the same quality of opener you listed above though. Unfortunately the part cost is only a portion of what goes into us replacing that part. The technician felt your door was unbalanced and needed new springs, it is their job to tell you anything they find upon their door inspection. That being said, if you didn't feel comfortable with the recommendation, I am glad you chose not to do it. Thank you for the feedback, and if you need anything further please let me know. Joel E Belyew
I was very happy when Precision came out and made a repair on my garage door, but I was disappointed with the tune-up. Part of the service cost included a tune up. After the repair was complete the technician called me and said my door was out of balance. I asked why this was not part of the tune-up, and he would not answer me. He kept stating I needed another spring added to my garage door to balance my door since I had insulation. I sent an e-mail to five competitors asking about having two springs vs. one spring on my garage door, and they all replied I do not need a second spring. They all also stated they will balance a door during a tune-up. I later spoke with Eric at Precision and he told me they always put two springs on the garage doors when they instal a door. So IF YOU ONLY HAVE ONE SPRING ON YOUR GARAGE DOOR DO NOT CALL PRECISION, they will not balance your door, unless you go with two springs. To recap the garage door repair was nice, the tune-up or lack of tune-up was not what I expected.
- Eric Hendrich
Hi Eric, I spoke with my staff about your job, The technician informed me your spring was weak for two reasons. 1) The spring was old and weak due to wear and tear. 2)You had added insulation to the door, although it may seem like a negligible amount of weight, typically adding insulation adds 10-15 lbs. Your non insulated door had a specific weight of approximately 200 lbs, when a company installs the door they need to put in a spring made to lift 200 lbs. What this does is makes the door neutrally balanced so that it takes the same amount of force to either open or close the door. Your garage door opener is only designed to operate a properly balanced door. Adding 10 lbs may not seem like a lot, but it does throw off the balance. Some people(including novice garage door technicians) may try to compensate for this weight by adding winds to the spring, this will not correct the problem at all. A torsion spring is designed to have very little tension when the door is opened fully due to the tracks at that point holding the bulk of the door. By adding turns you basically just reverse the problem, causing the opener to be strained while it begins to close the door as opposed to when it begins to open. The only real fix is replacement of the spring with one or two that are engineered to lift 210 lbs approximately. The reason we recommend two springs and install two on every new double door we sell is that they last longer, and cause less stress on the other components of the spring system. Installing two springs is more expensive, we do so because it is the better way, other companies install one in a lot of cases because it is faster, cheaper, and easier. I hope this sheds some light, and if you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to reach out to me or reply to this email. Joel E Belyew
I chose Precision after a great experience in service as I had new openers installed. My first touch with Precision was a great experience , and the technician, Corey, was a true professional. Unfortunately I was not as impressed with the second phase when I returned for new doors. While the doors work just fine the technician left grease marks from his hands on the outside. Upon pointing it out he suggested I wipe them down the new doors i just purchased with some WD40. He took no ownership. In addition he smoked on the job which both of my kids noted when they came home from school. I am sure there are many quality doors, but so much comes down to service. The technicians truly are the face of the company - for better or for worse. I have mixed views now on Precision.
- Patrick Hay
Hi Patrick, Thank you for the feedback. I couldn't agree with you more. I apologize for the technicians failure to clean the door. When I reached out to him his reasoning of running out of anything to clean the door with is completely unacceptable. In addition smoking at a customers home is strictly forbidden, and will not be tolerated. This technician has been spoken to, and I am confident will not make these mistakes again. Joel E Belyew
My original call was to have my existing garage door checked for proper operation. It was decided that a new door was called for. The service technician set down with me and we made a decision on how to progress with getting a new door installed. The technician said that there was a two to three wait for an installation date and that was ok with me. In the next day or two someone called and said that they had an opening and that they would be out in a couple of days. I took a day of vacation to be home the day of the install, but at the last minute I received a call that there was a panel missing from the new door and they couldn't come out and do the work and they would call me to reschedule. A week or so later the work was rescheduled and I took another day of vacation to be home, but when the install crew arrived they found that the wrong size door had been ordered and could not complete the work. Again I received a call and an apology about the delays and a new scheduled install date. Again I had to take a day of vacation to be home. Finally after three attempts and the loss of three days of vacation the install was completed. I am not angry with anyone in particular and the service technician was great but from a customer service standpoint the ball was dropped several times and I will not call Precision to do any more garage door service work in the future.
- Ronald Snyder
Hi Ronald, I am sorry for the problem with the manufacturer on the first date of installation. Unfortunately they gave us bad information that led to us scheduling the install prematurely. Your second scheduled date was on Jan 6th, 2013. That day the state of Indiana was "emergency only" driving due to heavy snow/ice, and extremely cold temperatures. We work hard to schedule accurately, however sometimes we can't keep our appointments for reasons beyond our control. Thank you for the feedback, and we will continue to do everything in our power to avoid these issues in the future. Joel Belyew
Service Technician: Josh B
Repair of a sprocket, but after that there was an issue with the door closing properly. Door would go down a bit, then back up. Technician came out two other times, a bit unsure, then on fourth trip Josh came out and issue seems to have been resolved. Just continue to stress, one issue fixed followed by an entirely new and different issue that occurred immediately after the first issue. Still a bit wary of the door operation, but has been working properly past two days. Did hear quite a pitch from Josh regards to upgrades suggested, though I respectively declined.
- Alan Macdonald
Hi Alan, I'm sorry we had the follow up issue. Believe me, we don't like to make multiple warranty trips any more than you want to need them. Thankfully the issue was corrected. Your door failed several things on the safety inspection and was in need of further repairs. The gear and sprocket on your opener that was damaged was most likely due to these problems with your door. If I can be of any assistance please let me know.
Service Technician: Andrew S
Our experience was pretty terrible with this company. After two months from the time of the order, we have garage doors installed and they look good and work well, but are not exactly what we had ordered. Our order was actually messed up a couple different times. The technician was fabulous, but the office staff were not super helpful and messed up the order at least one of the times.
- Cristine Steele
Hi Christine, I'm sorry for the mix up. Your doors were 6'9" tall instead of the standard 7'. This is no excuse, and the technician should have caught this. Again I'm very sorry for the mistake, and the delay on your door. If I can be of any further assistance please call. Joel Belyew
My garage door was working intermittently and I suggested that the capacitor was giving trouble. The technician thought the motor was probably playing up which I thought was unlikely. Glad I pushed the point as it was indeed the capacitor which was leaking. Anyway, the job was done speedily although the technician didn't seem too happy. When I asked where one could purchase a capacitor in future I received an abrupt, I don't know. Same response when I asked where his company purchased them from. Seems like they were looking for a quick buck and weren't interested in too much conversation when it appeared it would be a quick job. Speedy service but remain on your toes..
- Carl Smith
Hi Carl, Thank you for the review. I have spoken with the Technician to make sure he will be more aware of how he is perceived. Customer Service and experience is very important to us. The technician really wouldn't know where we get the parts. We get them from the manufacturer, or a dealer that wouldn't sell to the general public. I'm sure you can find them online however.Thank you for the feed back, and we will be better in the future. Joel Belyew
Through Angie's list I ordered a tune up and new rollers for $99. They also replaced cables springs, bearings, etc. Now the bill is $619. I was charged for a service call and a fuel surcharge which I knew nothing about or I would not have had this work done. I also have light coming in through the top of my door which I assume is an opening that will give me a lot of cold air coming in during the winter months thus causing other problems. There is also a hard, like cracking noise when the door is opening.
- Pat Cramer
Hi Pat, Thank you for the review. As I explained the phone the service call and fuel charges are all on the bill as usual, but the Angie's List Big Deal Discount takes off nearly double that amount. Thanks also for allowing us to send the technician back out and correct the gap issue you had. Joel Belyew
Positives: Corey was personable. The garage door works fine now. Negatives: Actually, except for adjusting it, there was nothing mechanically wrong with the door. However, Corey pointed out that the door, to be safe, really needed two springs rather than one. Further, he strongly recommended, in addition to the installation of two new springs, that a rod needed replacing as well. Retrospectively, I should have taken 24 hours to consider the replacement of the springs--as the one spring had seemed quite adequate for these past 15 years. The bill was $315.00 (I chose not to replace the rod). As a widow, I rely on the company to make recommendations that serve me, rather than the company. I felt that these recommendations served you best. If my garage doors need repair in the future, I will not be calling your company.
- Linda Swindell
Hi Linda, Thank you for speaking up and letting us know how you felt, we need all customer feedback good or bad to keep improving our company. I'm very sorry you felt Corey's recommendations were not in your best interests, we train our technicians extensively to be able to diagnose any and all potential problems, and to show and explain those problems to the customer so that they may make an educated decision about what to do with their garage door. Did Corey show and/or explain what he was recommending? Either way, if you were uncomfortable, I'm glad you decided not to go through with the repairs. If there is anything I can do to help restore your faith in Precision Door Service please do not hesitate to ask. I can be reached at (317)844-4849. Thank you again, I look forward to hearing from you.