Read what people are saying
Precision Garage Door of Indianapolis
about Precision Garage Door
has received 21 reviews, averaging 1.00 Stars:
This service was to replace the door opener on a one door garage opener that got hit by lightning. The product installed was overkill for this door. The door is only used maybe 25 times a year. They way oversold us. The door opener alone was $958. The total bill came to $2933. They did a good job, but will not use again. I feel they took advantage of my husband.
- Jane Brackney
Service Technician: Eric G
I was very disappointed to say the least. The sales associate didn't sit down to explain the difference between the garage doors, the R ratings, pros/cons on the two diff openers, etc. Not the service I expected from a company who prides its on customer service.
After speaking with Amanda, I was left with a much better impression of Precision and their service. It's rare to find a company that takes client feedback seriously. I appreciate that and will recommend the company to others.
New Door Designers: Analisa F
Had an estimate scheduled for new garage door installation. Technician showed up at door and knocked and when wife answered the door he was already measuring dimensions of door. Never introduced his self. Was at my house less than 5 minutes and said I will email you a estimate unless you want to put a deposit down. Very very unprofessional. Your business depends on customers and customer service and what we got today was very poor.
- Jason Gibson
New Door Designers: Matt S
My garage door was working well with key pad, car remote and hand remote but after tuneup…the garage door will not open or close unless using in-house opener!!! They worked before tune up!!!help!!!
- Theda Watson
Hi Theda, We will call you asap and get this fixed. I'm sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you, Joel Belyew
Nice enough sales estimater but price very high and cant install for 2 months.. ridiculous.. found someone less expensive and installing this week
- Pam Upchurch
Hi Pam, I'm sorry we let you down. Being as busy as we are, and in high demand is a blessing we are grateful for. Unfortunately, there is a down side and we cannot currently do quick turn around. I hope you were happy with vendor you choose. Thank you, Joel Belyew
DO NOT TRY TO PURCHASE A GARAGE DOOR FROM PRECISION DOOR SERVICE! Their service is no existent. I called and had their door estimator come out Thursday and he quoted me a garage door but said that it would be 6 weeks before the doors might be in but someone would call me Friday to schedule the install - which NO ONE HAS DONE. I called twice and get the same answer, someone will call me back - BOT NO ONE HAS. Now keep in mind, when the estimator was here he had to open and close the door several times for pictures etc and in that process the hinges finally broke and the door was inoperable. He said to disconnect it from the motor and try opening and closing it manually. I did pay the down payment of $445 and do not want to lose that money, but I need a garage door. So I paid Precision money for a new garage door but no one will call me back to tell me when it will be delivered. Anyway, I am hoping the owner of this company will see this response and call me to discuss how to exceed in delivering Customer service. I am very dissatisfied and am looking elsewhere to see if I can get a door from another company in less than 6 weeks!!
- Bill Doss
Hi Bill, I did see it. I moved some things around and your door will be going in ASAP. I apologize we did not resond quickly to your calls our manager responsible for scheduling was out on Friday. Our door estimator never should have set that expectation that you'd be called the very next day. We will communicate this with our team and we will learn from this mistake. Thank you, Joel
After they determine that mo opener is not repairable, they gave me an estimate of lift master 8500W for $975 ( $487 online price with free shipping) and $160 labor! Doubling the cost of material is extremely unfair to the customers.
- Alex N.
Hi Alex, While it troubles me you were not satisfied with our service, the price we charge is based on the total expense of the service. While there may be a random handyman that might install it for $160, there are no companies in our area that will. I wanted your review to be a valuable tool for us, so I reached out to multiple other companies in the area to confirm my thoughts. While we were not the cheapest, we certainly weren't out of line. I hope you were able to get what you needed and are happy with the result. Thank you, Joel Belyew
Service Technician: Kevin U
Grossly overpriced. Told me springs needed replaced when just needed tension added. Very sales focused. Not a service company.
- Colby Shreffler
Hi Colby, As we discussed on the phone, in most cases older springs that are wearing out cannot just simply be overwound to compensate. This not only causes too much tension in the up position, but greatly speeds up the spring failure. I'm sorry that the technician failed to explain this at the time of your service. Thank you, Joel Belyew
Service Technician: Nick Z
I called in to get a quote before i scheduled the repair. I was quoted $145 for spring and installation. My other half told him he wanted the $145 spring before he installed it as well. The tech put in a $240 spring, instead. Why? totaling 271.... What the hell.. Almost double.. Trying to get a refund for the over charge.. I'll write another review tomorrow, after Im able to talk to management about it. They were gone for the day at 4:22 pm, So I have to wait until tomorrow to hopefully resolve this.
- Christina Goff
Hi Christina, I'm so sorry for the confusion. The service tech really missed the mark. Thank you for speaking with me, and I hope the refund has changed your opinion. Thank you, Joel Belyew
$80 tune up but no info on what was completed. Was given a quote for future work but never saw on my invoice per my request. Next day get a coupon in the mail for an extensive tuneup explaining what it entails and roller repaits for $99. I was quoted as needing new rollers. Why was i not offered this? Saw several other companies with tune ups for $10-20 less and more explanation. All my invoice stated was service charge and fuel charge. Feel like I was taken advantage of and have called to express my concern but still waiting to talk to the main office.
- Mike Liotta
Hi Mike, I apologize we let you down. Our technicians aren't permitted to offer coupon specials. The reason is coupons cost $$$ to get distributed and the offers are there to entice new customers to use our company. The offset in the loss is having the opportunity to have another long term customer. Hoping the safety inspection has given clarification to what the tech shared with you, and that the refund we sent was satisfactory. Thank you, Joel Belyew
Service Technician: Andrew S
Ben, the service tech was great, he earned the one star. There is a disconnect between the call center and the service folks. I informed the phone rep, Alex, of exactly what I needed: 240 lbs extension spring replacement. She quoted a price for that size spring, stating the service fee would be waived if we bought from them. Upon arrival, the sales pitch began for a fully upgraded door. I explained I just wanted to fix the immediate problem. The tech ended up on the phone and said the boss doesn't like to fix extension springs of that weight. When finally cornered, a price for the springs, which he didn't have on the truck, was nearly 4x the stated price. Nice guy, but I didn't call so I could meet a nice guy. Paid $80 "service" fee for a sales pitch. Why does the website say they work on both torsion and extension springs if the refuse to? Why is the extension spring on the cover page show a heavy weight style if they don't service them? Very disappointed.
- John May
Hi John, I'm very sorry we let you down. We didn't communicate properly, part of the reason is our customer service aren't used to hearing the term "Extension Spring", while you stated everything accurately on the call, they are used to customers reffering to Springs in many different terms. Here in central IN Extension are extremely rare. We only come across one once in every approximately 1000 service calls. That is the reason we don't keep them in the truck. While I have no issue repairing them at the customers request, and we do keep them in stock at the warehouse, we do advise against it in most circumstances especially on a door as heavy as yours. They simply are an inferior design on top of not nearly being as safe as torsion counterbalance systems. I hope the refund of the service fee was satisfactory, I apologize for the wasted time of the experince. We will learn from this error. Thank you, Joel Belyew
Service Technician: Ben H
You did not meet my expectations. Your service person try to sell my repair at a 520.00 cost and your competitor charged me 120.00. The first words before even looking at my problem, he asked have I thought about a new garage door. I eventually will need a new garage door, but I do not appreciate the b.s repair quote. I will not recommend your company to anyone!!! V
- Vivian Farris
Hi Vivian, I am very sorry you were so displeased with our service. Our goal at Precision is to fix your door in a way that will last, as well as offer with the best long term value. Your wooden was rotting through at the bottom. This is caused by long term lack of maintenance/painting. Rotten wood is not repairable. Your door needs to be replaced as soon as possible. The damage to your door goes way beyond cosmetic appearance, rotten wood is no longer structurally secure and can make your door unsafe. The competitor charged $120 to get the door working knowing you'd be replacing the door soon regardless and that money would be lost and wasted. Is that the kind of service you really want? I stand by the recommendation of my technician, and if you would like to proceed with the new door I will be happy to work with you on the price as well as count the money you paid for the original service toward the cost of the door. Thank you, Joel E Belyew
I watched the video your have on you website. I believe my tech has put the wrong springs on has failed to adjust what was put on. when I unhooked the garage door opener and opened the door it acted like the door that slams to the ground and opens too quickly rocketing to the top.
- Philip Metzger
Hi Phillip, Your springs should be balanced, and are under warranty. I'm not sure how the springs can be shooting upward(which would indicate being too strong for your door), and slamming to the ground(which would indicate the springs are too weak for your door) at the same time. But if there is a problem we stand behind all of our repairs. Please give me a call to arrange a follow up appointment at no charge. Thank you for the feedback. Joel Belyew
Technician was not able to replicate issue we have been experiencing. As such, he blamed problem on light sensors and then took $80 from us. He made it clear he won't charge us $80 next time he comes out, but then I had to sign off on a bunch of disclaimers. Not impressed at all.
- Mark Smit
Hi Mark, I'm sorry you weren't satisfied with our service. We have a standard charge for coming to the home, that includes diagnosing the issue, minor adjustments and/or repairs, and a safety inspection. If your sensors needed an alignment and that corrected your problem than I'm not sure I'm clear on what made that such a poor experience. Please let me know how we could have provided a better service. Thank you for the feedback. Joel E Belyew
I called precision garage due to the highly ranked customer feedback. When my garage door would start going down it would automatically go back up after moving only approx. 12". The first technician told me that the door itself was the problem. He said that if I order the $800 door today that I would not have to pay the service call fee. The door was installed by a different tech while we were out of town that day. Two days later the door started having the same problem as before. I called precision and they sent a third tech to my house a couple days later. He took the time to actually do some troubleshooting and was very pleasant to work with. He told me the whole problem was due to bad sensors. He called his supervisor and he said they could replace them for an additional $96. I also work in the field service industry. If I replaced a part for a customer under my recommendation and it did not fix the problem, I certainly would not charge them for my lack of troubleshooting abilities. I spoke with this supervisor on the telephone myself. He was unwilling to do anything to make this right! He would not even install the sensors for free after buying an $800 door for no reason! Do not let this company service your garage. They are scammers, and they are not willing to correct their mistakes!
- Morgan Beyer
Hi Clint, At both the original appointment, and the appointment of installation of the new door neither technician found any problems with your doors sensors. That does not mean they may not have been a problem, sometimes intermittent problems happen and can be very difficult to diagnose. The original technician recommended replacing your door due to its poor condition, and a damaged and bent door such as yours is what was more likely causing the symptom you described at the time. I am afraid I donâ??t agree that this was a miss-diagnosis. Like I stated earlier the sensors may have been a problem prior to the third trip out, but I do not have the ability to diagnose or much less teach a technician to diagnose a problem part that works fine when they are at your home. We did waive our Service Fee for coming to your home, but the sensors were a part you would have needed to pay for even it had failed at the original appointment, or installation. I wish that all electronic problems were more black and white, but that unfortunately is not always the case. That being said, I am committed to customer satisfaction, and would like to discuss this further if youâ??d like. You can reach me at 844-4849, or reply to this email. Thanks, Joel E Belyew
The door is fine; but, in talking with several other contractors I am told a door installation should include outside trim and weather strip. Precision did not install and insists on an additional charge to come make it right. Will not recommend to anyone.
- Sandra Baldwin
Hi Sandra, Thank you for the review. I have chosen to use what I believe is a superior seal. It is solid vinyl, and the rubber seal is molded into it. This seal holds up and works better than other seals in the industry. Like all products there are many options to choose from, some very inexpensive, and some that are not. In my experience the "free seal" some companies include with install is an usually an inferior product with no warranty. My choice doesn't always go over well, but most customers are happy with the product we offer. I will however offer you 50% off the cost in hopes that it will satisfy your complaint. Please call me at 844-4849, or reply to this email. Thanks, Joel Belyew
Seemed to be in and out in less than 10 minutes. $80 seems real high for spending at most 10 minutes tuning my garage door. They said they sprayed all hinges,but they seemed all dry when I inspected them when they left.
- Bill O'Patterson
Hi Bill, Thank you for taking a moment to submit a review, customer feedback is the best way to make our company better. Our tune up fee is pretty competitive I believe. It mainly just covers the cost of coming to the average home, including, truck, fuel, Technician Labor, and a ton of Insurance(Auto, Liability, Workers Comp, etc) to list a few. Although your home is located fairly close to our office, these prices are based on the average customer location(drive time). I also checked the work truck GPS tracking to see how long the truck was actually at your home which was 28 minutes, this is less than average, but I believe that is due to your door being in pretty good working condition. What a tune up generally consists of is Inspection, Diagnosis, Possible Adjustments, and Lubrication of some components. In your case your door was balanced properly, which is rarely the case, requiring no necessary replacement parts or spring adjustments. This is good news. The only thing the technician listed as needing replacement is your rollers which were worn out. I hope this sheds some light on our cost of Tune Up, and if you truly believe the Technician did not lube your door, I will gladly send a technician back out to your home to do so. Thank you again, Joel E Belyew
We were presented with an upsell from springs to full overhaul. The full overhaul price was much more expensive than your competitors. We were told that the spring set we purchased will be wasted when the system fails and needs the recommended full overhaul. I do not appreciate this sales tactic and caused unnecessary stress for my wife.
- Matthew Newell
Hi Matthew, Thank you for the feedback, it is very helpful when we are informed of our shortcomings. I apologize if Mike did a poor job of explaining the problems he found with your door, and if he made his recommendations sound the way you described. This comes a shock to me based on the typical feedback from Mike's customers(He is our Tech of the Month for 5 months straight which is based solely on customer service), but I guess all of us prone to an occasional off day. Typically if you are comparing our repairs with other companies we will come out much higher in price on some items. This is due to the fact we use the best parts available in our Overhaul packages, and back up those parts with our Lifetime Warranty on Parts, and Labor, as well as one year of Service Call Coverage. In comparison some competitors offer as low as 1 year parts, and 30 days labor. How would you feel if you saved $150 by going with them, and 3 months later you have to pay them nearly $100 to come adjust or repair the part they just installed? Or worse yet 14 months later having to foot the bill for the complete repair all over again. Precision Door has become the the second largest garage door company in the country because we strive to offer our customers a better product, warranty, and better service than other companies offer. Our service of course as a result is typically priced higher. I am glad Matthew that you elected not to make additional repairs the day of service since you were not comfortable with the recommendation Mike made. I hope your garage door doesn't give you future trouble, but if it does I also hope you will consider Precision, we will strive to do a better service for you. I am sorry also that my response took so long, I personally handle any bad review that comes in, and I have been out of town. Please feel free to reach out to me if you would like to discuss further at (317)844-4849, or just reply to this email. Thanks, Joel E Belyew
I had to pay $80 to fix something that hadn't worked right since it was installed by Precision. I had a complete overhaul done on my garage door last summer. Since then, the door would occasionally stick and have to be hit twice. It slowly got worse and I finally called to have it fixed. I had to pay $80 to have it fixed when it should have been done correctly to start with. The tech was professional and did a good job (it took less than 5 minutes).
- Cassie Habegger
Hi Cassie, Thank you for taking the time to do a review. I believe we work harder than any other company by far to make sure we do the job right the first time. That being said we are obviously not perfect. For that reason we provide our customers with by far the best warranty in our industry. Your door overhaul included a Limited Lifetime Warranty on the Parts and Labor, and we also give one year of Service Fee Coverage for Warranty Repairs. If there is a problem with the door we need you to let us know so we can repair it as soon as possible. This is not only for your convenience, but helps us prevent other wear and tear on both your door, and operator. Unfortunately Cassie without your call we have no way to know that a problem exists. I hope you understand the philosophy behind our Trip Charge, it is only there to cover the cost of getting to your home. With Technician Pay, Truck, Fuel, Insurance(Liability, Auto, and Workers Comp), etc... The Trip Fee is only there to cover those basic cost. Occasionally someone will call with a warranty problem 1 week outside of the one year Service Fee Coverage window, and I have made an exception. In your case it was over two months out. In a perfect world we wouldn't need to collect trip fee's, but in the world we live in they are necessary to remain in business. Thank you again for choosing Precision, and if you would like to discuss this further I'd be happy to help. Joel E Belyew
8/14/12 I has Jared and Joe out to fix our garage door. The cost was an amazing $XXXX. I thought this was pretty high in the first place. The problem continue off and on. We were gone several months and when we returned the same problem was back. On 3/1/13 Josh came out and fixed the problem in 30 min for $XX. He explained completely what the problem was (which was the same thing in Aug.) Would you recommend your company to someone else if this had happened to you. We felt we were WAY overcharged in Aug!! Scammed in fact.
- Chris Wolf
Hi Chris, Thanks for speaking with me today, it really helped me understand your frustration. I'm glad we were able to reach a mutual understanding, and I will have your refund applied to your credit card today. Thanks again, and if I can help any further please let me know, Joel E Belyew
I am not pleased with your company. Five days after my new door was installed, the weather stripping came off. I made an appointment for repair, to occur on the following day between 4p and 6p, and as such took time off of work to be home during this time frame. Note that I only get paid when I work, so I lost $XX in wages to be present for this repair. On top of this, the technician did not show up until after 7p. Had i known this would be the case, I would not have lost the wages, as I could have left work at the usual time. Of course, none of this would have occurred if the materials and/or installation were proper. Note this is not the first negative experience I've had with your company, but it will be my last because I'm not likely to give you further business. I will be in the market for a new opener within a few months and will be more than happy to utilize one of your competitor's. In the meantime, I'm waiting for my new door to fall apart again.
- Dave Oney
Hi Dave, Thank you for the feedback, we want to hear from our customers about their experiences both good and bad. Although Amarr is a quality product and the best manufacturer in the industry in my opinion, they are not immune to the occasional defect, and we at Precision stand behind that product. I apologize the seal became partially detached, and that Corey was running behind the day we came to fix it. Obviously we can't predict what the day holds and we do sometimes get behind schedule, but the fact that neither Corey, or anyone else from our company reached out to let you know is completely unacceptable. I hope the refund we gave you for your inconvenience is satisfactory. Thank you again, and we will strive to make this right and hopefully satisfy you 100%. -Joel Belyew Thank you for allowing Eric and Myself to come to your home, and I hope the additional seal we've added will permanently correct all of the issues. I really appreciate you allowing us to make this right, and look forward to the updated review you told me you'd be sending. -Joel Belyew